This Must Be On Your Thanksgiving Table…Caramel Pecan Cheesecake!!

I have been known to consume an entire cheesecake by myself! Yes, it’s true, when it comes to sweets I have a serious problem!! My other love is pecan pie;) Last year I made 2 pecan pies because I knew that in a day one would be gone.  Once they were baking I began to reflect on my actions… feeling like a pecan crazed freak, I half heartedly sent one of the pies to work with my husband before I engulfed it lol!!  Every year around this time I go mad with baking (and eating) everything in site!  Before I get to out of hand this year, I’m combining some of my favorites! Hopefully this will satisfy my need to try every flavor of pie known to man & cut down on the feelings of self disgust while peering into yet again, another empty pie pan!!

20161114_134600

I made this Caramel Pecan Cheesecake 2 days ago as a trial run for Thanksgiving. It’s GONE!  I take that as a serious compliment to how it went over in this household.  Usually my husband has a slice & never really cares if he sees it again until next time I whip it up.  This however, was a different tale.  He walked away with 3 slices & carefully hid one in some tupperware for later lol!  I do believe I have found his flavor weakness!!

I cannot wait to serve up this decadent dessert to my family, but just incase you need to do a test run for Thanksgiving, I have leaked this recipe early.  I seriously recommend you give it a trial run just so you can eat it twice!!

Ingredients

For the Crust:

1 3/4 cups vanilla wafer crumbs

1/3 cup unsalted butter-melted

For the Cheesecake Filling:

24 ounce cream cheese-softened

1 1/4 cups light brown sugar

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

4 large eggs

2/3 cup heavy cream

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the Topping:

4 tablespoon unsalted butter-melted

1/2 cup brown sugar

3 Tablespoon corn syrup

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 cup heavy whipping cream

1 1/2 cup toasted pecans-chopped

Instructions

To make the Crust:

Line the bottom of 9 inch springform pan with parchment paper and set aside.

Combine vanilla wafer crumbs and stir in melted butter, then press the mixture evenly into bottom and halfway up the side of 9 inch springform pan. Set in the fridge to firm the crust while making the filling.

To make the Cheesecake Filing:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Beat the (room temperature) cream cheese until creamy, then add brown sugar and flour and beat until fluffy.

Add eggs, one at a time, beating just until combined after each addition. Do not overbeat it as this will make it crack when baking, but don’t worry if it does crack because you’ll be covering up the top with your pecan topping anyway. Stir in heavy cream and vanilla, then pour cheesecake mixture over the wafer crust.

Place springform pan on a cookie sheet, put it in the oven and reduce the heat to 325 F Bake the cake for 60-70 minutes (until toothpick inserted in the center comes out almost clean). Turn off the oven and leave cheesecake in with oven door closed for 30 minutes.

Run a knife around edges of cheesecake but don’t take out of the pan until completely cooled.

To make the topping:

In a small saucepan combine butter and brown sugar. Cook for 3-5 min or until very bubbly, then stir in corn syrup, cinnamon, heavy whipping cream and chopped pecans. Cool to room temperature.

Release the sides of springform pan and spoon the topping over cooled cheesecake.

Store the cake in the fridge.

I believe that this might just make it into your favorite recipes & become a Thanksgiving tradition!!

Hope you all have a fantastic Thanksgiving this year!!

Enjoy your friends & family, but don’t forget to check out our website;)

Adventuresofadomesticgoddess.com

Leave a Reply

