BEST Summer Cookie Made With Fresh Lemons!

Refreshing & light!  Lemon is the quintessential flavor of summer & brings to mind visions of summer, sunshine, & happiness!  Although I hate to use my oven when it’s nice outside, I’ll make the exception any day for these little bundles of joy!!  Made with FRESH lemon & none of those store bought extracts.  This beautifully delicate lil’ cookie packs a lemon punch that everyone will continue to beg for!!

I LOVE lemon!  I used to be that crazy little kid that could bit into one without ever making a sour pucker face.  It seems like when summer rolls around I always opt for trifles, pies, & fresh fruit instead of cookies.  My Lemon Sugar Cookies are a lively change to your regular sugar cookie recipe & are so EASY to make!  You can even keep the dough in your fridge for a fast dessert that will be ready in a matter of minutes or you can keep it secretly waiting in your freezer to amaze any last minute guests that happen to find their way to your door!!

I made a batch of these last night & continued to grab a cookie every time I walked past the kitchen.  Needless to say, my husband didn’t get to take any in his lunch pale this morning.  Yes, I ate the entire plate!  Did I care?…NO!!  When my doc gave me the okay to incorporate sugar & gluten back into my diet last week, I don’t think he meant for me to down the whole platter of cookies lol!  I awoke with some self loathing & a small stomach ache.  I decided to blame it on the large salad I had for dinner last night;)  So, what did I do today?  I made another batch!!  There, it’s like I never ate them right lol!!

This recipe is made from a fresh lemon with no added extracts.  I have to talk a minute about zesting.  I always buy organic lemons, especially for zesting!!  When you correctly zest a lemon, you want to just take off the beautifuly bright yellow outside.  Once you’ve reached the inner light color of the rind it get’s really bitter & ruins all of that gorgeous bright lemon flavor!! You can see the color difference of the rind in the picture below.  Remember, just use the bright outer layer!!

506ae5b7d9127e30ea0013d4._w.1500_s.fit_

Lemon Sugar Cookie Recipe:

Yields approx, 30 Cookies

1/2 c Softened Butter

1 1/4 Granulated sugar

Zest of 1 lemon

2 TB Lemon juice (fresh from the lemon you just zested)

1 Egg

1/2 tsp Vanilla

1 tsp Baking Soda

2 tsp Baking Powder

1/4 tsp Salt

2 c Flour

Directions:

In large bowl, cream together butter & sugar & mix until light & fluffy.  Next, mix in Zest, lemon juice, egg & vanilla. Scrape bowl as needed.  Slowly incorporate baking soda, powder, salt & flour & mix until well combined.

20160609_170320

Scoop cookie dough onto a large pice of saran wrap & roll into a log. Place in refrigerator until thoroughly chilled, roughly 2-4 hours.  I always make mine up & toss it in the fridge overnight to have ready to bake the next morning!

20160609_170751

Preheat oven to 350 degrees & line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Shape into smooth balls a little bit bigger than a quarter & place 3 inches apart on baking sheet.

20160610_105300

Bake for 11 minutes.

Allow cookies to rest on the pan for 2-3 minutes before removing to a wire rack or paper towels to cool completely.  Top with powdered sugar!!

20160610_110738

Store cooled cookies in an airtight container for up to several days.

Easy peezy & I promise that you won’t be able to keep your hands out of the cookie jar either!!!!

20160610_113135

Want more recipes? Visit My Website:

adventuresofadomesticgoddess.com

 

Leave a Reply

