Quick & Crunchy Avocado Mishmash

My mother was a stickler for preparing a balanced meal every night.  There was always a protein, veggie, & carb included in every meal.  Most nights she would ask “Do you want green beans or corn?” Since canned veggies were cheap, we would get them by the crate at the store.  In my adult years, I have spent a little more time concocting my veggie portion of dinner.  In all seriousness, I could probably skip the protein & carbs & just go for the vegetables!

I get tired of the go to green salad.  Yes, there are a multitude of ways to kick it up, but I like some diversity on my dinner plate!!  The fresh & tangy ingredients in my Quick & Crunchy Avocado Mishmash make this salad a killer hit!  Easy to prepare & it’s ready to eat immediately.

I will warn you though, it’s addicting & completely guilt free as there aren’t any hidden calories in a mysterious dressing.  I try to incorporate avocados as much as possible as they are incredibly nutritious!  This heart healthy fruit has proven in numerous studies to improve heart disease risk factors like Total, LDL and HDL cholesterol, as well as blood triglycerides.  Full of fiber, antioxidants & more potassium than a banana!!

Quick & Crunchy Avocado Mishmash Recipe:

Ingredients:

1 Large Avocado

1 Cucumber

1 Cup Cherry Tomatoes

( I like the yellow ones for this recipe since they look so pretty with all of the green veggies)

2 Medium Green Onions or 4 small ones

2 Limes

1 Tablespoon of Rice Wine Vinegar

1/4 Cup Cilantro

Salt & Pepper to taste;)

Directions:

1.) Chop tomatoes into quarters. Dice cucumbers, green onions, & avocado.  Throw them all into a bowl & set aside.20160520_172939

2.) Put 1/4 cup of cilantro into your food processor or blender with the juice of both limes & rice wine vinegar. Pulse until a smooth dressing is formed.

3.) Combine the dressing with the veggies & add salt & pepper until it suits your taste.

20160520_183411

 

Ta daaaa! You’re done!  You can chill it in the fridge until ready to eat or do what I do & immediately dig in!!

The crunch of the cucumber compliments the soft avocado so well & the sweetness of the tomatoes pairs nicely with the tartness of the lime!

Bonus- the lime juice will inhibit the avocado from turning brown!!

My Quick & Crunchy Avocado Mishmash will definitely be an eye catcher, it’s one of those foods that just makes your body feel good to eat! Nice & clean;)  Perfect for a Summer BBQ or to throw together tonight!!  Chop-chop & enjoy!!

Visit My Website:

adventuresofadomesticgoddess.com

Like my blog?  Check out my Facebook!!

Thank you for liking & sharing😉

Stay tuned to see what mischief I might find next!

Leave a Reply

