The correct way to celebrate National Margarita Day when it’s 35 degrees out!

I definitely don’t need an excuse to drink a margarita, but since it’s national Margarita Day, I guess I’ll force myself to have one!! 😉  Whether you like them on the rocks or blended with or without salt, a good margarita hits the senses with a tangy bite & leaves you wishing for white sand & sunny weather!  I may have the sun while it’s a whopping 36 degrees in my neck of the woods, but I’m pretty sure that after a few of my PERFECT margaritas, I really won’t care where I am!!

It’s generally agreed that the ingredients of a classic Margarita are tequila, triple sec, and fresh lime juice. But I like to add something a little extra….orange juice!  Just a splash of course;) The secret is proper amounts of your ingredients; balance makes the difference between a good drink and a bad one!

INGREDIENTS:

For one drink
1 1/2 oz. tequila (100% agave a must)
1 1/2 oz. triple sec or Cointreau
1 to 1 1/4 oz. of lime juiceSplash of good ol’ orange juice
First thing first…Salt the rim of the glass!  I can’t tell you how many times I have gotten ahead of myself & poured my drink in without first salting the rim!  Wipe the edge with a lime wedge & then give her a roll in the salt;)

Shake all the ingredients with ice in a cocktail shaker until the exterior frosts. Strain into a glass over rocks, or “up” into a cocktail glass. By all means, if you prefer yours blended then break out your blender!  We prefer ours straight up on the rocks.  Use a slice of lime as a garnish on the rim, while not strictly necessary;)

The last step is the easiest of all…..drink it up!!  So, even though you may not be resting easy on those glorious sunny beaches on this National Margarita Day, you can make your own margarita that will make you forget your cares anyway!! Slap on some sunglasses before you lay on your couch just to make it feel more believable;)

CHEERS!! 😉

6669036793_2d770cf1a8_b

Don’t forget to subscribe to my blog to see what mischief I may find next!!!

Leave a Reply

